Jocelyn Reyes

After a long break, here’s another instalment of our “Who’s who at the Bonnington” series. This time, we’d like to introduce you to Jocelyn, one of our Sales Executives.

Here’s what Jocelyn says about herself & her job:

As a Sales Executive at the Bonnington Bonnington Jumeirah Lakes Towers – the only family-owned and run business hotel in Dubai, I look after the corporate accounts in Dubai Internet City, Dubai Media City, Knowledge Village, parts of Sheikh Zayed Road and Jebel Ali Free Zone. I ensure that all corporate hotel requests in these areas are responded to accordingly and assist all bookers with their requirements, whether it is for room reservations, meeting space or banqueting.

To work in the hospitality industry, you have to be a people person and to work in hotel sales, you have to be more than just people-oriented. It is not just the physical product that I sell to my clients; it is both the product and the service we provide. I myself am part of this service and, as the clients’ point of contact at the Bonnington, I have to ensure that they and their guests receive the best possible service at all times.

Acquiring new accounts, rate negotiation, developing mutual business relationship with clients, looking after and assisting the clients with their requirements are just some of the things I do.

My day starts as soon as my alarm sounds. I usually switch on my laptop and dance to my favourite songs for some morning exercise. Once I get myself ready, I pick up Wilson, my car, and drive to work.

When I get to the hotel, I sit in front of my computer for about 15 to 20 minutes to send my appointments of the day to our director, check my production, hotel and competitors’ figures and the hotel forecast, so I can advise my clients accordingly for their future requirement.  I go out to attend all my appointments at around 10.00 a.m. I usually have around 6 appointments per day and while driving from appointment to appointment, I make follow up phone calls to my clients.

I normally get back to the office around 3.30 p.m. and once I’m back in the hotel I do admin tasks such as sending e-mails, follow ups, issue and chase contracts and logging my activities for the day in our record system.

Before coming to Dubai, I was working as a call centre agent back in the Philippines. It was my sister who saw the advert for a Wild Wadi Water Park vacancy in Dubai. At first,  I didn’t want to apply and leave the country; however it my mum encouraged me to try. In July 2007,  I finally arrived in Dubai and started my new work as a life guard in Wild Wadi.

It was hard work being a lifeguard, but it was fun. After some time, I was given an opportunity to join Jumeirah Living in DIFC to be part of their pre-opening team as a Guest Service Executive. Almost two years later I joined Burj Al Arab as a Sales Agent and it was then I realized that I want to pursue a career in Sales. I moved to the Al Murooj Rotana as Sales Coordinator and got my driving license for the UAE. When I felt that I was ready to move forward in my career, I joined the Bonnington in November 2010.

I believe that Manny Villar’s comment during his political campaign, “Sipag at Tiyaga”, is actually true. It means “Hard work and patience”.  Dream big, because nothing is impossible. Work hard for your goals and be patient and grab every good opportunity that comes, because opportunity only knocks once.

———-

Don’t forget to visit our homepage! Have you seen our YouTube channel already?

almas tower, dmcc, almas dubai, dubai jlt, dmcca, jumeirah bar, jumeirah lakes, cafe in jlt, jafza hotels, starbucks jlt, cafe nero jlt, #guestcommentswednesday, ibn batuta, moevenpick jumeirah, #worldhotels, mama knows dubai, mamaknowsbrunch, cavendish restaurant, mc gettigan’s pub, authors lounge, healey’s bar

About bonningtontower

The Bonnington Hotel Dubai is located in the heart of Jumeirah Lakes Towers along Sheikh Zayed Road, just opposite Dubai Marina and in walking distance of Jumeirah Lakes Towers metro station. It is a 5-star hotel with 208 luxurious rooms and suites (all non-smoking), 272 deluxe serviced hotel apartments, 5 restaurants and bars, 4 conference suites and a 450sqm conference centre with ballroom. The hotel also boasts a Leisure Deck on the 11th floor with infinity pool, state of the art gym, pool bar, Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna as well as a ladies hairdressing salon.

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Bonnington Who's Who and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is a really good blog. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

